Posted on

Hello, My Name is Ursula and I am a Spoiler.


(text under image “Most kids just get a drink of water, you know.”)

When you have an “only child”, often times it is hard to gage when something is too much or too little. You do not have the advantage of prior dealings with an older sibling. My son is an only child, and when he asks for things, very seldom does he hear the word, “NO”. Keep in mind that he is only two years of age, and his vocabulary is not extensive enough to ask for anything too extreme… not yet at least! But the other day I seriously found myself about to cook my son “cakes” (which in our house is short for “pancakes”) for a snack. I was prepping my cooking station, gearing up to prepare my finest batch of “cakes” for a two year old to take one bite, then change his mind and say “I want cookies” instead. Where is the line drawn?

All the men in my life constantly address my son as the spoiled one and me as the ultimate spoiler. Before the “cake” epiphany, I plagued their comments as a non-factor and chalked it up as their lack of a maternal bond, right? I mean, my son is not spoiled. He does not get everything he wants, when he wants it. And then, I pinched myself. He may not get everything he wants but he does get a variation of what he wants, most of the time. My way of teaching him that he may not always get his way is saying “NO” to what he is asking for, occasionally. So that sounds stupendous to most. Here is where I go wrong, he doesn’t get that wagon he is pointing at but he walks out of Wal-Mart, after every visit, with either a bag of Life Savers Gummies candy or a small toy to add to the mounds of other toys he already has. Am I a bad SingleMama, family? Am I really teaching him that no means no, or am I teaching him that he may not get the big treat but he can always count on a smaller treat to come to the rescue?

I know you all are dying to know, did the kid get his “cakes”. He sure…. DID….. NOT!!! I had to draw the line. I told him NO like there was-a-tomorrow. And that became my motto; “Not today, maybe tomorrow”. His response was a simple, “OK Mommy”. Our children like discipline; they also like to test our limits. He knew the “cakes” were our breakfast food, but he also knew that if he asks, he usually receives and if he doesn’t receive the specific item that’s being requested, he receives a variation. These little monsters are smart, but we are smarter, SingleMamas. Do a self-evaluation on your practices. Are you a spoiler or are you an improver, your child’s behavior and his life depend on it? Please Share.

**Click on the image in the beginning of the post for your Resource Link.

About singlemamas

I am a Lady... I am Single and I am a Mother. This captures who I am in a nutshell. Society deems me "Single" because I am not a spouse. I like to think of myself as "Double" minus one but only for an unspecified amount of time... I am currently in the market of educating our future; the future leaders of this great nation uncertain of its plans. The fine Mercer University is getting the governments hard stolen money that I PROMISE to pay back at a later undetermined time. I am quickly approaching the 30s decade but please don't tell anybody. Though my son reminds everyday. I work hard and pray long; that's what keeps me propelling forward. Writing became an escape. I write in my free time which is whenever my mind wants to travel. The motivation is usually sparked after I witness an event or have an epiphany or experienced an array of emotions from a cause. Friends and family enjoyed listening to my written words and encouraged me to broaden my audience. These are my thoughts, my feelings, my words. Welcome to my blog, SingleMamas!

4 responses to “Hello, My Name is Ursula and I am a Spoiler.

  1. Wow I’m so guilty right now! I find myself in the same situation only I have more than 1 kid .I sometimes cook 2 to 3 different meals all in one because of how and what my kids want me to cook.I have children that range between the ages of 13 and 23, and even the 23 year old still know how 2 have his way with me whether its cooking or whatever. This has really given me an awareness much needed . Thanks for sharing and I plan on making some changes to help both myself and my children to better our future decisions.

  2. Great blog Ursula! The “spoiling situation” seems to be something that is easier said than done. If a child says they want something that they dont neccessarily need at that time, the parent says no, right? At least people think it’s that easy. But you captured the essence of how a parent feels, and how they want to discipline their child but let them know that they would do anything for them too. I don’t think giving your child a smaller reward is all out wrong and since you came up with the method of doing that im pretty sure you’ll be creative in finding a way of making the “spoiling situation” turn out just fine.

  3. Sonya Randolph ⋅

    HAHA, I can only imagine how hard it is say to say no to that cute little face smiling at you…GREAT blog Ursula, looking forward to reading more!!

  4. Again, another wonderfully, insightful blog! I’m thankful that you were able to see the spoiling taking place. Most parents never do… The great part about those single mamas that do discover this early is that they will begin the un-spoiling process much sooner and eventually have a little helper on their hands (The child will begin to share household responsibilities and take on chores and other helpful tasks to assist the parent). That’s when the burden parenting, in my opinion, begins to dissipate…

Leave a comment